LavuC50

POS & Retail · Independent restaurants, bars, breweries, pizzerias, cafés and food trucks that want deep, configurable res…

Visit Lavu ↗

Overview

Lavu is a capable, unusually configurable iPad POS for independent and small multi-unit restaurants, with a long list of niche features — pizza builders, brewery and bar workflows, food trucks, dozens of language packs — that the big platforms handle less gracefully. The reservations are structural rather than functional. Pricing is quote-based and no longer published on Lavu's own site, plans reportedly carry a three-year commitment, and using a payment processor other than Lavu Pay is reported to cost an extra monthly fee per terminal — a design that makes the processing decision less free than it looks. Meanwhile the company's public identity has shifted almost entirely to Marty AI, which is a defensible bet but leaves a buyer unsure how much attention the point-of-sale itself is getting. B- is a good product to shortlist and a contract to read very carefully.

Best for: Independent restaurants, bars, breweries, pizzerias, cafés and food trucks that want deep, configurable restaurant-specific functionality on affordable iPad hardware, and small multi-unit operators who want one system across sites. It suits operators who intend to use Lavu Pay anyway, since the pricing structure rewards that, and international or multilingual operations benefit from the language coverage. The Marty AI layer is aimed squarely at multi-unit operators trying to find margin in labour and menu data without hiring an analyst.

Strengths

  • + Genuine restaurant depth. Fifteen years of building only for foodservice shows in the handling of modifiers, courses, tabs, split checks and vertical workflows for pizzerias, breweries and food trucks.
  • + Affordable entry: independent reviewers place the starting plan near $59 a month with one register included, which undercuts most full-service restaurant platforms.
  • + iPad-based hardware keeps the capital cost of a lane low and replacement easy, and merchants can source some of their own equipment rather than buying only proprietary hardware.
  • + A complete stack rather than a till: kitchen display, online and contactless ordering, dual pricing, payroll, back office and in-house processing all from one vendor.
  • + More than two dozen language packs — Merchant Maverick counts 26 — which is genuinely unusual at this price point and matters for multilingual front-of-house teams.
  • + Marty AI is a real product idea rather than a badge: overnight analysis across POS, labour and scheduling data, delivered as prioritised costed actions before service, and available for insight even on other POS platforms.

Trade-offs

  • – Lavu no longer publishes a pricing page at all — the pricing URL now serves the marketing homepage — so every figure available to a buyer comes from third-party reviews of unknown vintage.
  • – A three-year commitment is reported on all plans, which is a long time to be locked to a platform in a category that changes quickly.
  • – Using a payment processor other than Lavu Pay is reported to cost roughly $20 a month per terminal — a penalty that makes the processing choice less independent than it appears, and one Lavu does not disclose publicly.
  • – The base plan buys one register. Additional terminals, kitchen display and online ordering are all separate monthly line items, so the real bill is well above the headline for anything but the smallest site.
  • – Outages during peak service are the most persistent theme in independent complaint records, alongside accounting errors and software glitches — the failure mode that costs a restaurant the most.
  • – Reported policies are unforgiving: no refunds on software subscriptions, and a reserved right to suspend inactive accounts after 180 days without notice.

Fees in detail

  • Online rate: Not published. Lavu Pay is the built-in processor and Lavu does not disclose its card rates; online ordering runs through the same relations
  • Contract: Reported as three years.

Standard published rate for a domestic online card payment. Confirm current pricing on Lavu's pricing page.

Startups on RevMRR using Lavu

RevMRR can't verify revenue through Lavu yet. Verify your revenue →